EMINEM: RAP GOD

I once heard someone say, Eminem was their favorite rapper because of his ability to consistently release albums that can be listened to over and over. I remember having this unconvinced look on my face, but now I may have to disclaim that reaction from memory. It’s hard to deny that remark now that the new Marshall Mathers LP2 being so fire!

Marshall-Mathers-LP-2

To be honest, it was only after listening to songs off the album apart from the popular singles, Berzerk, and Rap God, that I became hooked. The reason for that being, because I wasn’t all that impressed with what I heard. I had this idea for a while that Eminem was getting too mainstream (he actually addresses it in his song, Rap God.)

Eminem-Rap-God

Now, for a lot of you out there, you may shudder at labeling a song or artist today as mainstream. It can be a taboo topic. Many of us become instantly turned off when those words are used in a sentence together.

WARNING!!! THIS SECTION MAY BE DISPUTED

To clarify, what this expression means in this case is that Eminem’s raps were becoming more to satisfy the masses and not for himself. It’s this phenomena that occurs when a artist becomes too popular or has gained significant wealth. We begin to question the artist and prefer his/her older songs over the new. No doubt, few artists today can pull this off without straying from what made them popular in the first place. What made them the ‘hot new sh*t’. What made them really relate their words to us. When I listened to the album with a friend whom is an avid Eminem listener, I found that there is something that instantly grabs our attention.

***

[BACK TO THE TOPIC AT HAND…]

There is an incorporation of sounds and lyrics from his beginnings with modern references that takes on other artists, media, or social social sayings that are relevant. Now sounds and lyrics His transitions from one song to the next are well placed and eases you into something new with each track. It’s quite impressive

Listen: Rhyme or Reason (He goes in after rapper Chief Keef)

The separate tracks from the singles that are out now give you a sense of nostalgia and freshness. Eminem was able to use sounds and lyrics from his beginnings of rap and mix them with modern references and takes on other artist. His ability to do such a thing makes it difficult not to pay attention to.

Maybe you’ll recognize the famous classic rock line-“My Maserati does 185, I lost my license now I don’t drive.”

The track, So Far, features sample from Joe Walsh’s, Life’s Been Good.

Listen: So Far… by Eminem- (@3:05 he even throws in sample from Slim Shady!)

2 thoughts on “EMINEM: RAP GOD”

Leave a comment